How I spent my summer vacation

This week, as I mentioned, we headed to northern MI to the hunting cabin for a couple of days.  40 acres of pure nature – mostly.  Let me recap:

Our home away from home doesn’t have running water or electricity.  It isn’t quite as bad as it sounds, except when you have to do your “business” – in the little house on the hill.

Now imagine going out there at 3am after drinking 10 beers and after hearing stories of coyotes.  Yeah – I did the squat instead, and good thing I was wearing Hubby’s shoes because I splahsed on my feet a little bit.  I was tempted to use Avery’s Royal Potty Chair instead – guess I should have.

While we were there, we had the relaunch of the fishing boat that Hubby used to take fishing with his Grandpa (affectionately called Gramps – we miss you).  He got the boat 2 years ago and refurbed the whole thing.  We didn’t know if 1) the boat would still float and 2) if the motor would work.  But we got myself, Hubby, Avery, fishing gear and 2 dogs into the boat.  Granted after this trip neither Avery nor I are allowed fishing again, but we still had a good time.

 It was a very proud moment when the motor finally started and the ole fishin’ boat was cruising around the lake.  It did take on a little water but we didn’t sink and have to swim for shore in the freezing water, so that’s a good thing.  I felt like we should have cracked a bottle of champagne or something…but it was still very special. 

And guess what, folks – we’re doing it all over again over the 4th.

3 thoughts on “How I spent my summer vacation

  1. massage momma says:

    I came across your blog through another one (which I can’t remember). I love it. My husband’s family also has a place in Northern MI with no electricity or running water. So I totally get what you’re saying about making the late night squat instead of heading to the scary outhouse. There have been times when I absolutely had to use it after drinking and campfire stories. I don’t think I’ve ever ran so fast back to the cabin!

Leave a Reply

