Mix Tapes

For those of us that were of impressionable age in the 80’s and early 90’s – the power of a MIX TAPE is undeniable. The tedious hours spent selecting songs, setting the dubbing tape recorder to the EXACT spot you want, hitting play and record at the same time, and ultimately making the enduring collection of songs for that special person…it had meaning. While going through boxes in the basement this weekend, I found my last remaining box of tapes. Both those given as gifts (I always made a copy) and those given to me. Over the course of our relationship, Hubby has asked why I have kept the old beat up yellow Sony walkman…and the stereo I got my freshman year in college – with dual cassette decks. It is for this exact reason – I STILL OWN TAPES. Not many but enough. Only those that are tremendously sentimental.

 

Upon this discovery, I jumped for joy and quickly sought out my old walkman.  After Avery went to bed, I too crawled into my bed with my trusty tapes.  And listened to hours and hours of music from my youth.  And reminisced….about what was and what might have been.  I think the tapes from my first real love – long gone now and not seen for 11 years or so – are the best of my collection.  We shared the same taste in music and he introduced me to new genres – such as the classic rock of the 60’s and 70’s.  I listened to that tape first.  And last. 

 

In the morning, I woke up with my headphones on the pillow next to me, the tape player off, and my daughter cuddled up next to me.  It was back to today, back to the now…but it was great to think about the past, even if it was for only a moment – as long as a 110 cassette tape.

7 thoughts on “Mix Tapes

  1. those are some of the best memories… its AMAZING what a song can bring back… there are some songs I hear today that bring back tears and I know it sounds silly, but that is some powerful stuff! Great post!

  2. I still have my Walkman too. I had a HUGE tape collection in high school, which my Mom sold most of at a yard sale… what was left was mostly my mix tapes….now I wanna go listen to them!

  3. shannie says:

    Awww! I love it when we talk old music! You need to figure out a way to get them on cd. I have NO tapes left at all. None. But, I do have some kick ass mixed cds… Lol! And, guess who made them for me???? Readers, I’ll give you one guess… DANA!

  4. Awwww – thanks Shannie! I haven’t figured out how to get them on CD – but I probably have lots of the songs collected on my ipod so I could “remake” it on my ipod. Definitely doing that with the classic rock mix.

Leave a Reply

