Beef – it’s what’s for dinner

I really don’t have much to say today – which is unusual since generally I NEVER shut up. 

 

Went to the gym this morning after dropping Avery at preschool.  Jumped on the elliptical with my headphones on…and this hairy old guy gets on the machine next to me.  Now I am about 15 or so minutes into my hour – and just hitting my stride.  And he wants to chat.  Hello????  What part of headphones ON suggests and I want to chit chat?  I hate to be mean but I don’t use the gym as my social outlet.  I go there to sweat my ass off, listening to loud obnoxious music and then I leave.  I am NOT a gym bunny – I don’t claim to spend 3 hours at the gym, only 20 of which are working out and the rest is spent flirting with all of the personal trainers.  Please leave me alone.

 

Then I came home and in a Betty Crocker moment, baked 3 loaves of Zucchini bread.  Some with nuts, some without. 

 

And the title – that’s because I am making beef – flank steak to be exact – and some parmesan zucchini strips for dinner.  What’s with the zucchini – a friend gave me a TON from her garden.  I need to use it or lose it. 

 

Other than that, I did nothing today.  Nada, zip, zilch.

 

But tomorrow I have to put on a bathing suit – now I am sure I will have a story or two then!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lecia
    Jul 30, 2008 @ 21:58:29

    I love this post!

    1. I looove zucchini (I’ll need that recipe)

    2. Gym Bunnies…Never understood them. Who the hell gets all dolled up to go to the gym? Don’t they know how bad that is for their pores? Seriously, you may get a first date from flirting at the gym, but when he picks you up for the next one a week later you’re gonna have a pizza face.

    3. The headphone thing happens to me all the time. Yesterday infact when I was walking Lola. This guy in my neighborhood must have been talking to me for a minute before I noticed him and took my plugs out. I totally pulled it off so he wouldn’t repeat himself. A friendly nod did the trick.

    Reply

  2. Dana
    Jul 31, 2008 @ 07:07:54

    L – I’ll be sure to post that recipe. It was a new one for me and yummy. Hubby and I ate the daylights out of it. Avery – not so much.

    LOL about the pizza face. I always look like a frumpy frump when I go to workout. No makeup – same old baseball hat and I usually don’t match. Do you know how much those little coordinated outfits cost? No thanks – not for something that is just going to be sweaty and gross! 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

