Trip to the Pool

We packed up our lunches and towels and sumscream (yes – that’s what Avery calls it) and trekked off to the pool.  We got there slightly late – thanks to Bear vomiting all over the kitchen floor literally as we were walking out the door.

 

So, they checked our bags and we had to leave our coolers – water bottles only allowed in the park.  Fine – so we left our bologna and turkey sandwiches under a bush.  If someone really wanted to take them, it was ok with me b/c I wasn’t too excited about turkey lunchmeat on light bread with only mustard.  (That’s WW for you).  It was myself and 3 other moms.  They have a great fenced in kiddie area with very shallow water and lots to play with.  It was crowded but hey – it’s summer and sunny, what did I expect?

 

About an hour into the trip, they evacuate one of the little pools due to CONTAMINATION.  (Read:  poop in the pool)  Turns out someone pooped on the water slide.  I think I saw the mom whose child was the guilty party.   For sure he was young enough to not be potty trained BUT he did not wear a swimmy diaper.  Now I know these things are gross and kids generally hate them.  Shit, I wouldn’t want to walk around in a wet maxipad all day either – but the purpose is to KEEP THE POOP IN!!!  And prevent FLOATIES!

 

Everyone climbs out and we decide this is a perfect time for lunch.  Lesley (bless her heart) talked the staff into letting us bring our coolers into the park and eating at a table in the concession area, rather than sitting on the hot concrete outside.  (It was packed with all of the kids from Parks and Recs field trips who were also evicted from the pool)  I ran out of the gate to grab the lunches and by the time I got back to the table there was an annoucement – ALL 3 pools were closed for the next 12 hours due to CONTAMINATION.  Come on – are you telling me that three people pooped in all of the pools?  Our swimming day was cut way too short!  And on such a wonderful day.   Did I mention that they don’t give rainchecks for contamination issues????????  Bastards. 

 

Lesley and I ate our lunches and shot the breeze for over an hour.  We discussed the merits of Wentworth Miller – sigh – and she brought me up to speed on Prison Break so that I can tune in to watch this fall.  (Heck, if he has to take time away from cleaning my windows – I’d better know what he’s up to!)  The kiddos had ice cream…it was lots of fun. 

 

We passed through the locker room and of course all the kids (oh and me included) had to go potty.  The lifeguards (16 year old girls with their lifeguard suits on with cell phones tucked into the straps- who all looked like they stepped out of an episode of Gossip Girl) were very impatient with 2 moms and 3 small kids who were HURRYING as fast as we could.  Obviously no experience with small children there…

 

The two important things I learned at the pool today:

1) There are people out there that would rather risk their kid pooping in a pool and having the WHOLE place evacuated than put a swim diaper on the munchkin.

2)  After all of the stressing I did about my bathing suit – I could have worn a THONG sting bikini and looked better than some of the women there…so next time I won’t worry about it so much.

 

ETA:  Some pictures (no, none of me in a fat bathing suit…)

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Life Love and Lola
    Jul 31, 2008 @ 14:54:46

    Evacuations have happened at our club pool before once due to poop and once because an alligator made his way in there in the middle of the night! Sorry your day was cut short. Swimmies should be mandatory.

    Know what I realized…Prison Break films in Dallas. Maybe I’ll meet him when I’m there in a few weeks!

    Reply

  2. Dana
    Jul 31, 2008 @ 14:57:45

    Um, I think I need to plan a trip to Dallas…

    And I think I would so rather be evacuated b/c of poop than a big ole alligator. YUCK! I think the only worse would be if the alligator pooped in the pool.

    Reply

  3. Lesley
    Jul 31, 2008 @ 17:20:50

    I am just thankful it wasn’t my kid that pooped in the pool that is for sure. Count me in on the Dallas trip please!

    Reply

  4. Cristin
    Aug 01, 2008 @ 12:10:17

    Reason # 534 why I would never bring Graham to a public pool… He’d shit in it for sure….

    Reply

  5. Dana
    Aug 01, 2008 @ 13:25:33

    Cristin – I LOL that is what I needed!!!!

    Reply

  6. Michelle
    Aug 01, 2008 @ 14:47:41

    So Lesley told me about the pool incident but said I had to read your blog….have I mentioned that I really enjoy your sarcastic sense of humor. Had to read it out loud to my hubby and he had a good laugh! Sorry I missed it!

    Reply

  7. Dana
    Aug 01, 2008 @ 15:38:04

    M – I am glad you are enjoying the blog. 😉 I am usually not so funny, unless I have time to think about it. Sorry you couldn’t come to the pool, it’s not like you have a newborn or anything 😉 See there I go again!!!! I want to come see you and the new baby – VERY SOON!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

