Book Club

In the fall I joined our local chapter of the Junior League.   It’s a large class and I really haven’ t met that many people yet – we only have monthly meetings and the occasional social event.  Most women are single, or married without kids – so sometimes it’s hard to find something to talk about. 

The real reason I joined the league is to meet people…and I know that next year, when I am an active and on a committee, I’ll be meeting people left and right.

However, in my typical fashion, when I join something, I tend to jump in headfirst.  And I recently joined the JL Book Club.  The first meeting since I joined is next Tuesday, and I have yet to buy the book.  I’ll admit I’ve been caught up in the Twilight series.  And now that I am ready to read, the book is nowhere to be found.   So I will miss this meeting…but hey, I’ve gone off on a tangent.

Yesterday I got an email from the woman who organizes the book club, who happens to be the mom of a little boy in Avery’s class.  She was asking for people to *host* upcoming meetings.  And what did I do?  Volunteered.  Yep, you heard it right.  I am hosting the April meeting.  Now it doesn’t have to be at my house, but I have to pick a location, notify everyone, etc. 

AND HERE’S THE KICKER:  I HAVE TO PICK THE BOOK!!!!

Yikes?  What was I thinking?  I have no idea what to select.  So here I am – asking all of you who might swing by…read any good books lately that would be of Book Club material???  I am desperate but I figure if I start now and don’t wait until the day I have to annouce my selection that I might be better off.

So, what do you think???

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sissy
    Jan 08, 2009 @ 16:23:04

    A Certain Slant of Light was really good and I hear The Memory Keepers Daughter is good. The movie was. Oh, or The Secret Life of Bees.

    Reply

  2. Anissa
    Jan 08, 2009 @ 16:31:05

    Can’t help my head has been in homeschool books.

    Good Luck — I’ll ask my husband he reads alot.

    Hugs

    Reply

  3. KDLOST
    Jan 08, 2009 @ 16:44:01

    ooooh, wish i had a good suggestion. though, i have heard that the secret life of bees is a great one as sissy above said.

    i have been contemplating joining the JL! it seems all of my friends are doing it… but i think i might wait a year or two… just so we can get settled somewhere and i won’t have to transfer…

    Reply

  4. Linda
    Jan 08, 2009 @ 18:05:52

    Here are some of my favorites when I still was in book club:

    One Thousand White Women: The Journals of May Dodd by Jim Fergus

    The Many Lives & Secret Sorrows of Josephine B. by Sandra Gulland – this is a series of 3 books. EXCELLENT. Everyone in our group loved these books. Highly recommend.

    Reply

  5. Linda
    Jan 08, 2009 @ 18:07:55

    Oh, and congrats on getting back in Junior League! I’m in my 4th Active Year. Not sure what is going to happen this summer when I have a child – I might have to take a lighter placement in the Fall.

    Reply

  6. Jackie
    Jan 09, 2009 @ 00:28:41

    Not sure if it would help any, but here’s a list of the top 10 books in 2008 that a bunch of us book reviewers compiled.

    I would also recommend Outlander by Diana Gabaldon. It’s a historical fiction novel with romantic elements that is phenomenal.

    Other than that, I can recommend some good paranormal fiction, but I’m not sure what you’re looking for.

    Reply

  7. Michelle B.
    Jan 09, 2009 @ 23:49:00

    I gave you all my book suggestions on the Y email…don’t have time to read too much these days.:( I did want to tell you though….I know someone who would love to cater your party …hint hint 😉

    Reply

  8. Shannon
    Jan 10, 2009 @ 23:30:58

    Check out Mrs. Kimble by Jennifer Haigh

    Reply

Leave a Reply

