Dear Avery,

Mommy is so proud of you for doing such a great job keeping your toys neat.  It really helped that Daddy and I spent hours reorganizing everything into tubs, moving your toy chest downstairs, and moving out some toys you generously agreed to give to the baby.

No longer am I stepping on doll house parts or little people as I try to navigate my way to your bed to tuck you in during the middle of the night.  No longer am I finding paper bags containing stuffed animals, Mr. Potato Head parts and half chewed crayons (courtesy of Montana, not Avery) all over the house.  You are growing up, and learning responsibility.  It warms my heart.  We still have a little work to do, but we’ll get there.  TEAMWORK, right?

In light of all of this, I have to say that when I asked you to please pick up the My Little Ponies that were strewn all over the living room, this isn’t really what I had in mind.  BUT, I have to give you credit, they were up off the floor.

img_3433

img_3436

(And yes, that is Olivia, the well-traveled Pony that you see there!)

img_3438

Who knew Little Ponies had magnets in their feet?  Apparently Avery figured it out.

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. shannie
    Jan 22, 2009 @ 11:55:01

    OMG, Dana, that is HILARIOUS! Seriously! I’m loling… You’re right, you gotta give that kid some credit… She did get them off the floor!

    And, really, who knew about the magnets in the pony’s feet?!?! Huh. You learn something new everyday….

    Reply

  2. arual1977
    Jan 22, 2009 @ 11:58:27

    BWWWAAAAHAHAHAHAHAHA… Dana, that’s freakin’ hilarious!!!!! What a smart little girl though.

    We actually knew about the magnets b/c my girls play with them in the tub and we hang them sideways to let them dry out. I can’t take credit though – Abby figured it out.

    I’m still laughing over this though…

    ~L

    Reply

  3. courtney
    Jan 22, 2009 @ 12:40:24

    I am lol! That is so freaking funny. Did you die when you walked into the room and saw this?

    This is classic.

    Reply

  4. KDLOST
    Jan 22, 2009 @ 13:23:40

    WHAT!! Magnets! I seriously thought that was trick photography!! HAHAHAH

    She’s a smartie, that little girl of yours. You should send that in to a magazine… you’d win hands down.

    Reply

  5. KDLOST
    Jan 22, 2009 @ 13:25:40

    WHAT!! Magnets! I seriously thought that was trick photography!! HAHAHAH

    She’s a smartie, that little girl of yours. You should send that in to a magazine… you’d win hands down.

    Reply

  6. Just the girl
    Jan 22, 2009 @ 13:48:23

    So funny! But she did pick them up off the floor that gets an A right there!

    Reply

  7. heather
    Jan 22, 2009 @ 14:33:32

    Those pictures are hilarious! I also thought it was some sort of trick photography. Now I’m going to have to go home try it out. Your girl is a smartie that’s for sure!

    Reply

  8. Jackie (Literary Escapism)
    Jan 22, 2009 @ 15:34:04

    There are magnets in the bottom of My Little Pony?! I never knew that. This is hilarious. That made my day.

    Reply

  9. lifeonthetailofacomet
    Jan 22, 2009 @ 21:44:18

    I spent a small fortune on “My Little Ponies”. My Little Blonde Girl had dozens of them. I’m pretty certain ours didn’t have magnets in their feet. My sister and I always thought that at the time there was only one “boy” pony and that his name was LUCKY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Reply

  10. Cake
    Jan 23, 2009 @ 10:37:59

    That is priceless! She was really thinking outside of the box! I am shocked that they have magnets in their feet, who knew?

    Reply

  11. Shannon
    Jan 25, 2009 @ 22:23:54

    I don’t remember MLPs having magnets in them when I had them as a little girl! I can’t remember when it was my girls figured it out… but they would stick them on the fridge!

    Reply

  12. Michelle Bishop
    Jan 27, 2009 @ 16:59:50

    LMAO…that is hysterical! Who knew about the magnets…now I have to go upstairs and check out Sydneys!

    Reply

  13. Zoe
    Jan 27, 2009 @ 20:00:16

    That’s hilarious. I laughed out loud and then made my husband read it too. She’s clever, that Avery!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

