Can’t read your own writing?

So I am sitting here at work and the phone rings.  I don’t recognize the area code, but we are always getting calls from sales reps, so I pay no mind.

Here’s how the conversation, strange as it may seem, went:

Me: “Good afternoon, (insert name of store here).  This is Dana, how can I help you today?”

Caller: (imagine a 90 year old woman who has smoked 4 packs a day for her entire life) “What?  Is this Georgia Water?”

“No ma’am.  You have the wrong number.”

“What?  That can’t be, this is the number that I have written down.  Are you sure you aren’t Georgia Water?”

(Brief pause as I decide whether or not I should be a smartass…but I just can’t do that.  Surprisingly.)

“No, ma’am, this isn’t Georgia Water.  You have reached a store in Michigan.”

“Well that can’t be…I dialed the number I have here – this is supposed to be Georgia Water.”

(Again – do I prolong this and ask what number she had written down, just to tell her that she was wrong.  Nope, I’m feeling polite today so I’ll skip the sarcasm.)

“I’m sorry, Ma’am.  You have a great day!”

And she actually Tsked me before she hung up.  And was appalled that she got me instead of Georgia Water.  I certainly feel sorry for the people she was trying to reach – there is going to be hell to pay, I am sure, because it’s obvious this lady couldn’t read her own writing.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tatiana
    Feb 04, 2009 @ 15:47:23

    Oh man, I HATE when old ladies call me. I swear, when I’m old I’m going to try and make a point not to be as ornery and rude as the ones I interact with in my daily life.

    Reply

  2. cristin
    Feb 04, 2009 @ 17:40:57

    I would have gone smart ass on her…old lady or not…

    Reply

  3. Jen
    Feb 04, 2009 @ 19:53:17

    {snort} Old people crack me up. =)

    Reply

  4. KDLOST
    Feb 04, 2009 @ 19:55:50

    i hate it when people call me on my cell phone and act like it’s my fault they couldn’t get it right. also, they are wasting MY minutes. grrrr!

    so yeah, old lady, get yo facts straight! word.

    Reply

  5. Life, Love & Lola
    Feb 05, 2009 @ 23:22:27

    Gotta love the “Old People” I deal with those fucktards everyday!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

