I’m happiest on my back

Now, stop, and get your mind out of the gutter. 

Keep reading…

I’m a back sleeper.  I hardly move at all when I sleep.  Pull the covers back, lay down and that’s how you’ll find me in the AM.  That’s before I had a basketball for a stomach.  There is a long list of the scarifices that are made by women when growing a baby:

No alcohol

No rare meat

No imported cheeses

Skip the diet coke too

Not being ablet to sleep flat on my back is by far the biggest deal for me.  Frankly, it’s the shits.  My second favorite position is a combo side, stomach.  Yeah, you can guess how that is working out for me.   So I spend my nights wrapped around a maternity pillow, tossing from left to right and back to left again.  Which makes me crabby in the morning.  I hate being crabby.

Maybe some coffee will wake me up – SHIT – gotta skip the caffeine too.

Is this my body’s way of reminding me how many times I’ll be waking up in the middle of the night once he’s born.  Or is it just a cruel joke?

***

Other than that, we had a very productive weekend.  We got Avery’s room painted.  I just have to finish the trim this afternoon.  Then we can put it back together.  Once that’s done, I’ll get some pictures up.  But be prepared…her new room is pink, pink and more pink with a side of pink.  Literally.

Happy Monday All!

(I can’t wait to see what weird shit the title of this post will generate…)

7 thoughts on “I’m happiest on my back

  1. Linda says:

    LOL!!!! Totally understand. It is a cruel joke. I’m a stomach sleeper so that isn’t working for me anymore. I lay on my side/stomach with a pillow under to me to trick my body to think I’m laying on my stomach. I’ll have to buy a maternity pillow soon.

    And I’m fudging on the caffeine. I have a Dr. Pepper about once a week. I just can’t help it.

  2. shannie says:

    Ohhh yeah! I remember those days. Ack.

    And totally allowed myself on Dr. Pepper a day! I had to give in somewhere… LOL!

    Put up some pics of the new purchases and projects!!!!!

  3. Marta says:

    Nicholas was 10 pounds 3 ounces when he was born, by the end I had to sleep in the recliner because no other position worked and I was a freakin monster!

  4. Oh yeah, I totally sympathize with you!! when Maia was born and I could finally sleep on my back, I was happier than a pig in shit…. for the whole hour of sleep I got before she woke up again 😛

  5. man oh man. siiiiigh. the things women sacrifice. hang in there.

    i tell you, just knowing what all goes into it, i am taking my time thinking about #2. at first i was all gung ho! ‘whoo hoo! let’s get pregnant!!’ and now i am kind of like… eh, let’s wait until may… or june… or next year… why the rush? 🙂

Leave a Reply

