Night Terrors? Or a really big Chicken Nugget?

I have to set up this story twice. 

First the chicken nuggets.  Avery likes chicken nuggets.  She usually only eats them with her friends – at McDonald’s with Sam.  Where she dips them in the Apple Dippers Caramel sauce. (Gag)  And when we go to Sydney and Ryan’s for lunch – where she dips them in Ranch Dressing and Ketchup.  Just like Syndey does.  When she does indulge in the occasional nugget at home, it’s plain.  No sauce.  No ranch.  No ketchup.  I ask her, just in case she plans to change her mind, but she never waivers.  Keep that in the back of your mind, ok?  Just tuck that morsel away until you get to the next part of the story.

Secondly – for the past several weeks nights, have been awoken at all hours  by the yelling in my ear gentle whispers of my sweet girl standing next to my bed.  In my zombie-like, my-infant-son-still-isn’t-sleeping-more-than-3-hours -at- a-time state, I whip back the covers and let her crawl in.

I shouldn’t, I know that.  Not because of the reasons you might be thinking…disrupting the martial bed or any of that mumbo jumbo.  It’s because she is a BED HOG!  I am constantly finding a foot in the small of my back.  Or feet on my head.  Or her head on my stomach.  And she steals shares my pillow.  Well, you get the picture, right?

Last night was no different.  As soon as she heard me come  upstairs and climb into bed, she was right there.   We got through most of the night without incident.  She must have been very tired.

Suddenly I am awoken by screaming.  And she’s yelling, at the top of her lungs, “I don’t WANT any RANCH dressing!  NO! NO! NO!”  Um, WTF?

Me:  Avery, are you awake?

Silence

Me: Avery, you are dreaming, honey!

Avery:  NO! Mommy, I am having a NIGHTMARE! (Throws arms around me sobbing)

 Was she being chased by a ginormous chicken nugget covered in ranch dressing?  Is she going to spend years in therapy reconciling her loathing of ranch dressing.  I’m not sure where that was coming from, because she fell back asleep before she could tell me about it.  But you can bet that I wouldn’t be offering her ranch dressing with her nuggets at dinner any time in the near future.  Or maybe ever.  Thankfully I didn’t give her a hot dog for dinner.  That would have been a whole different set of nightmares.

ETA:  I have to give a shout out to JILL – who just learned about my blog.  Obviously she doesn’t REALLY read my FB page b/c the link is right there.  Just sayin’ – and I did write about my favorite subject.  YOU!  Word.  XOXO

5 thoughts on “Night Terrors? Or a really big Chicken Nugget?

  1. OMG! I thought my daughter was the only kid that dips their McNuggets in the caramel sauce. How funny! I think it is really disgusting, but she loves it. When we make them at home she goes with Ranch.

  2. shannie says:

    LOL! I can envision a giant chicken nugget, dripping with ranch, with arms and legs chasing her through the streets of Beverly Hills. That IS some scary shit.

Leave a Reply

