Friends may lie but mirrors don’t

For months now, well – 3 since I had Carson – people have been telling me how good I look.  

Yeah, right.

I joined Weight Watchers at 6 weeks postpartum.  And didn’t take it seriously.  I lost some weight but only made a miniscule dent in the 40 pounds I want to lose. 

I went to the gym a few times, but once every 2-3 weeks really doesn’t do much for the back fat and the thighs that rub together.  I can’t take Carson to the play land.  Ballys pisses me off b/c kids have to be 12 months old and walking.  Well, does that mean moms have to stay fat until their kids can walk????  All of the other gyms around here take infants.  But at $10 a month vs. a new membership at $100+ per month, I’ve figured it out.  Go before the kids are out of bed. 

I bought a new pair of jeans and a cool shirt for my birthday party.  Non maternity for the first time in…well…since December.  Then I looked at pictures from my party.  One picture in particular of my backside.  Pictures don’t lie.  Well, unless you have photoshop.  Which I don’t.  Unfortunately.

Finally on Sunday, I  took a good hard long look in the mirror.  And decided to get my fat ass in gear and lose this baby weight.  I am motivated.  I am dedicated.  I finally WANT it off. 

 My shuffle is loaded with awesome tunes, my beer drinking is limited to weekends only (Hello Miller Lite), and I’ve been rolling out of bed at the ass crack of dawn to get to the gym and sweat to Anderson Cooper (man he’s hot).   Granted it’s only been two days but I feel good.  Scrap that – I feel GREAT!

It will take some time – I am hoping to feel more like my old self by Thanksgiving and be back to my pre Carson weight by Christmas.  (That’s if I can stay away from the Gingerbread Lattes at Starbucks.  I swear they come out earlier and earlier each year…)

So it’s time to stick some fresh batteries in the scale, find some new sports bras, and get it done.   As Avery would say when I tell her to be behave (and as she just reminded me again) – Santa is watching.

Guess I have to stick to it…don’t want to upset the jolly fat man.  Ironic, isn’t it?

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. courtney
    Oct 13, 2009 @ 08:58:37

    You can do it. And you do look good. You had a baby three months ago, that is only 12 weeks!!

    I will give you more deets on the competition I am creating. Hopefully if we have enough people play someone could win like $100!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

