Let’s Bowl Let’s Bowl Let’s Rock N Roll…

You may appreciate the Grease 2 reference….you may not.  But either way….we joined a bowling league.  It started last night.

Hellz yeah it was a BLAST!  It’s with Hubby’s softball cohorts…it’s co-ed and there is drinking.  What more do you need?

For those of you that don’t live in the midwest, you may not appreciate the love we have for bowling.  But what else is there to do in the middle of winter other than bundle up, trudge through the knee high snow to a dark, smoke filled building where you throw 11 or 12 or 16 pound balls at a bunch of pins in the hopes of knocking them down? As a matter of fact, it’s such a midwestern thing that it took Shannie a full five minutes before she recovered from laughing before she realized I was serious that 1) we had in fact joined a league and 2) I have my own ball and shoes.

So we did it…and whilst flexing our muscles with the balls, we also practiced the one-armed curl with one hand while stuffing copious amounts of fried foods into our mouths with the other.  Because that’s all you need in a bowling alley snack shack – a deep fryer.  Mini tacos, nachos, chicken fries and curly fries.  Yum yum yum.  The diet of champions.

I’m proud to say I am TEAM CAPTAIN.  Not sure if I got that role because I deserve it or because I am the only girl on our team and they felt bad for me.  Either way, my duty is to collect the money each week and make sure these boys bowl when they are supposed to, on their designated lane.  Lots of responsibility but I can handle it.  And after listening to years of softball nicknames, I finally have my own…Captain D in the house.

Again…me and three guys.  Our team name:  3 pins and a split.  Obviously I didn’t come up with that one…but it’s fitting.  And as they put it, it leaves lots of room for jokes for any of the guys that have to sub for me.  So I’m good with it.

Last night was all about setting our averages.  I bowled a 121, 96 (69 backwards in case you didn’t notice…I assure you the guys did) and a 124.  My official bowling average – 113.  Whoop Whoop.  Over a hundo.  Can’t believe that happened.  Maybe I should have sandbagged but I just couldn’t help.  It was the beer bowling…

Next week I have to take pictures.  So that I have record of the best bowler on our team landing a full face plant after coming back from the bathroom. However only video could capture the guys calling him SAFE.  (Remember, they all play softball together…)  Or pictures of me enjoying the 80s flashback music.  Or of Hubby bowling like a rockstar!  Don’t get me wrong, I brought my camera.  But both hands were consistently occupied…between the beer and fried munchies.  Oh, and the bowling.

Look out PBA….here I come!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. JAM
    Jan 13, 2010 @ 17:31:19

    Sounds like fun (well at least the beer and fried muchies does!) It’s been awhile since I’ve bowled. I wonder if I can talk the hubs into going with me? I think I could bribe him with the beer!

    Reply

  2. Casey
    Jan 13, 2010 @ 22:42:56

    1. I’m pretty sure you were made team captain b/c men don’t actually do organizational tasks.

    2. LOVE the name. Hilarious.

    3. Sounds like a ton of fun!

    4. What is 1356?

    Reply

  3. Michelle B
    Jan 14, 2010 @ 16:39:15

    You left out of our conversation that you were the captain and what your team name was!!! So if you need a sub, let me know…I may just give your 113 a run for the money 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

