Father of the Year

I know it’s only the beginning of August but if nominations for Father of the Year are being accepted, I have one to enter.  (Please note this statement is dripping with sarcasm.)

As I mentioned in my last post…we are building a deck.  It’s a known fact that a requirement for any home improvement project is a minimum of 433 trips to Home Depot.  I was on  trip 432 when I witnessed this moment of 100% pure STUPIDITY.

Driving home on a somewhat busy 5 lane road I noticed traffic slowing down…there was a man, with a bike, in the left turn lane.  His kickstand was down and he was standing there.  Next to him is a small child, probably 3 or 4 I’m guessing, with an armload of snacks and his bike – complete with training wheels.  He is waiting with dad.  On the side of the road, mere inches from the rushing traffic is yet another small boy, on his bike, stranded. By now I have passed them and am witnessing the events unfolding in my rearview mirror.  As the traffic clears, he sends the boy in the middle of the road to the other side…where there is a large curb and no sidewalk.  UNACCOMPANIED.  Yes.  You heard me right.  He let the boy CROSS THE FREAKING ROAD ALONE, left to manage pushing his bike while balancing the goodies obviously purchased from the newly opened 7-11.   Then, rather than crossing the road to collect the 2nd boy, he simply waved him across when traffic cleared.  God forbid either of the kids fell and needed assistance…IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD.

I never heard sirens, or saw flashing lights, so I believe they all made it to safety.  But here’s a tip – a 1/4 mile north, at the corner where the 7-11 is, there’s a LIGHT.  AND A CROSSWALK.

Hey Einstein – I’ll bet they could make a Real Men of Genius commercial about you.  Probably more appropriate than Father of the Year.  At least both boys were wearing helmets…maybe he should get credit for that.  On second thought…I don’t think so.

Leave a Reply

