Merry Christmas Y’all!

Jesus is the reason for the season, peeps!  I keep repeating this mantra over and over again as I race from the grocery store, to the mall, to Target – over and over again.  Picking up “one last thing”.

And at last, here it is, Christmas Eve.  The cumination of months of hunting, searching, and finding that special present for that special person.  I estimate that my children will take those 2 months and boil it all down to about 15 mintues of ripping and tearing sometime before the sun comes up tomorrow morning.  But OH it will be so worth it.  Avery is into it – Carson is into it and I think Hubby and I are even MORE into it.  I cannot wait to see the looks on their faces when they discover the toys that arrive from Santa’s Workshop.

It was dicey on whether or not Santa would have snow, here in Beverly Hills, this Christmas.  But Mother Nature did cooperate and we have a light dusting!  Just enough for a smooth landing.  Thank goodness – as this diverts many questions of “Mommy, how will Santa land if there’s no snow?”   Remind me to drop her a thank you note and a loaf of Fruit Cake.

So anyway – I did put off the trip to the grocery store until Christmas Eve.  Not my wisest decision ever…but it’s not my worst.  I thought I would outsmart the masses – and go EARLY.  At 5:57am I pulled myself out from under the dead weight of a 2 1/2 year old (yes, he still comes into our room every night – and sometimes this Mrs. Claus doesn’t have the energy to carry him back to his race car bed….but that’s neither here nor there…).  I pulled on my silly wooly hat and my running shoes, without bothering to change my bright pink fuzzy pants,  with traces of my new MakeUp Forever Smoky Lash mascara (early present to myself thank you very much) still visible under my puffy eyes, and marched out the door to Meijer.  Some interesting observations:

1) There was already a line at the Starbucks located inside my local Meijer – which tells me that “get there earlier than everybody else” idea wasn’t as original as I thought.

2) The words piping through the speakers as I hurried from aisle to aisle – trying not to spill my Starbucks – where “It’s the most wonderful time of the year…”  Uh-huh.

3) There must have been a MAD rush yesterday for every item on my list because many of the shelves were empty.  I mean – who else needs shredded Swiss cheese?  Apparently many others in the 10 mile radius of this store.

4) Despite it being 6am on Christmas Eve – the masses (I use that term lightly because it really wasn’t like a Black Friday mob rushing to get that $100 flatscreen) were FRIENDLY.  Down right – cheerful.  There were Merry Christmas wishes left and right.  It warmed my heart.

I am home now, another pot of coffee brewing.  In my heart, I know that later tonight I will live to regret my choice of rolling out of bed and hitting the store.  But that’s ok.  It’s only Christmas once a year.

And I shall leave you with this..3 years ago there was a bloggy Wine Glass Exchange – and this was the one I received….

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Michelle Sliter Bishop
    Dec 26, 2011 @ 22:54:40

    Oh how I’ve missed your witty sense of humor! XO

    Reply

Leave a Reply

